NJU Professor Wins National Innovation Award

Professor, Li Aiming, of School of the Environment, Nanjing University, was awarded the National Innovation Prize on May 27 in Beijing.  

The National Innovation Award was co-established by China Association for Science and Technology, Ministry of Human Resources and Social Security, Ministry of Science and Technology and State-Owned Assets Supervision and Administration Commission of the State Council.    

This award is another important science and technology award after the National Natural Science Award, the State Technological Invention Award, and the National Science Progress Award.   

It ranks second to the Highest National Science and Technology Awards.   

Professor Li at the ceremony   

Li Aiming is a professor, doctoral supervisor, and leader of the national Huai River Project on water pollution control and treatment. He has been awarded the title of Changjiang Scholar by the Ministry of Education and has won the National Science Fund for Distinguished Young Scholars.    

Besides, he plays a leading role in the “National Ten Thousand Talents” program and in the innovation teams organized by the Ministry of Science and Technology and the Ministry of Education.    

Along with his team members over the recent ten years, he has made achievements in pollution control and treatment of the Huai River. For rivers with multi-sluices but short of natural base flow supply, he and his team have successfully employed a method featured with “third-level control, third-level circulation and third-level standard” and the comprehensive regulation strategy featuring “dot-line-tube-surface.”    

His team has also developed other new technologies for pollution control and thus made contributions to the significant improvement of the water quality of the Jialu River, the most important branch of the Huai River.   

The National Innovation Award is granted once every three years.    

Each time, this award is granted to ten research teams with medals, and no more than 30 scientific and technical workers with medals, each enjoying the benefits as model workers at the provincial and ministerial level.    

It is also granted to no more than 300 scientific and technical workers with merit certificates.    

The award winners must meet the criteria in integrity, in ability and in contributions.    

Over 300 assessors were invited including outstanding specialists, technological managers and entrepreneurs, 157 of them being academicians.    

The assessors sat on sixteen panels, divided by research, technological development, key equipment, project implementation, business entrepreneurship, science popularization and social service.    

This year, the award was granted to 10 teams with medals, 28 individuals with medals and 254 individuals with merit certificates, selected through steps of online verification, primary evaluation and re-evaluation from a total of 1,343 scientists and 227 research teams.   



返回The original image